About Us

Brief Network History

clock-face-made-of-handmade-cocoa-based-paperFollowing the Organization of American States (OAS) “First Ladies Hemispheric Conference” held in Chile in 1995, a significant outcome was a meeting of Non governmental Organisations (NGOs) which focus on rural women and rural communities. Our First Lady, with the support of Inter-American Institute for Co-operation on Agriculture (IICA), called a number of existing NGO’s to formulate the guidelines for the establishment of the Network of Rural Women Producers, Trinidad and Tobago (NRWPTT). NRWPTT was formed in 1995 and is a national umbrella organization comprising a membership of over 60 small businesses and individuals.


The network was registered in 1998, as a non for profit organization, with the Ministry of Legal Affairs.

After fifteen years of existence we are pleased to record very good working relationships with national and regional organizations. Among these are:

  • IICA
  • The Ministry of Food Production
  • Commonwealth Foundation
  • Tourism Development Company
  • Ministry of Gender Affairs
  • The University of the West Indies (UWI)
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Ministry of National Diversity and Social Integration
  • The Rural Development Company
  • Caribbean Industrial Research Institute (CARIRI)
  • Ministry of Labour
  • The Caribbean Network of Rural Women (CANROP)

We maintain membership in the Network of Non-Governmental Organizations for the Advancement of Women, (with UN ECOSOC Status) Associated Country Women of the World (ACWW) (with ECOSOC UN Status).


Vision Statement

To be a national umbrella body promoting rural women issues and empowering women to enhance their economic and social well- being.


Executive CommitteeDirectorsGroups
  • Coordinator/President: Gia Gaspard Taylor
  • Vice/Deputy Coordinator: Veronica Romany
  • Immediate Past President: Rose Rajbansee
  • Secretary: Ria Natasha Edward
  • Treasurer: Prematie Ramnarine
  • Communications Officer: Denise Riley Mitchel
  • Floor or Trustees (2 members): Colleen Malwah Aqui (Trinidad), Member to be appointed from Tobago
  • Innovations: Susan Thomas
  • Agriculture: Valarie George
  • Administration: Nerle Robertson
  • Youth Affairs: Nolana Lynch
  • Federation of Women Institute – National, Regional and International
  • Network of Non-Governmental Organizations for the Advancement of Women – National, Regional, International: Services, Linkages
  • Women of the Soil – Palo Seco: Services
  • Maloney Women’s Group – Maloney: Services
  • Toco Foundation – Toco, Blanchisseuse, Moruga, Barrackpore: Services
  • Soap Sisters –  Central: ProductsParamin
  • Women Group –  Paramin: Outreach via super markets products – National Trinidad and Tobago



  • Chair – Dennise Riley Mitchel
  • Member – Rachel St Rose (with responsibility for marketing, promotions, ict’s, events)
United Nations International Rural Women's Day TEA Committee
  • Chair – Rose Rajbansee
  • Member – Valarie George
  • Member – Sandra Greenidge
  • Member – Rachel St Rose
  • Member – Susan Thomas
  • Chair – Gia Gaspard Taylor
  • Veronica Romany
  • Ria Natasha Edward
  • Prematee Ramnarine
  • Representatives of UWI
  • Representatives of Min. of Food Production
  • Representatives of Tourism Development Company